Back To FAQ

What is ECMAScript?

ECMAScript is the scripting language standardized by Ecma International in the ECMA-262 specification. In short - ECMAScript is a language specification.

Many languages follow & implement ECMAScript specification e.g JavaScript, ActionScript, Nashorn etc.

ECMAScript and languages

Ecma international releases standards specification time to time. Current edition is Ecma-262 Edition 5.1. Currently most browser has full support of JavaScript ECMAScript 5.1 edition.

What is the next edition of ECMAScript?

Next ECMAScript specification is Ecma-262 6th Edition, which is called ES6.

The following table lists all the publication of Ecma-262 editions.

Ecma Edition Published date
1 June 1997
2 June 1998
3 Dec 1999
4 Abandoned
5 December 2009
5.1 June 2011
6 June 2015 (scheduled)